The Lockport Locks Heritage District Corporation collaborates with private and public organizations to provide the premier Erie Canal experience for visitors.
The Lockport Locks Heritage District is a nationally recognized heritage attraction, featuring the fully restored and operating the circa 1842 Enlarged Erie Canal Flight of Five Locks adjacent to Barge Canal Locks 34 &35. The Locks Heritage District is easily accessible and fully interpreted, and it attracts hundreds of thousands of visitors annually.
The Lockport Locks Heritage District Corporation is organized as a 501c3 subsidiary of the City of Lockport’s economic development agency, the Greater Lockport Development Corporation. The LHDC is governed by a 13 person Board of Directors, is audited annually and it complies with the provisions of the Public Authorities Accountability Act of the State of New York. Since the New York State Canal Corporation is the owner/operator of the New York State Canal System, the LHDC does not own the assets of the Erie Canal Flight of Five; however, the LHDC does operate the Flight of Five Locks under the terms of an annually renewable permit from the Canal Corporation.
The Lockport Locks Heritage District Corporation (LHDC) was organized in 2014 as the successor organization to the 12 year-old City of Lockport Flight of Five Committee, which had championed the rehabilitation of the Erie Canal Flight of Five Locks. The LHDC, in addition to agreeing to campaign for the complete rehabilitation of all five of the historic Erie Canal-era locks, accepted the fiduciary responsibility for the operation and maintenance of the rehabilitated locks as well as the implementation of additional improvements detailed in the Erie Canal Flight of Five Interpretive Plan (Eisterhold Associates, 2012) so that the community could realize the full economic benefit from this unique Erie Canal heritage site.